Tuesday Intros… The Madman’s Daughter

The Madman’s Daughter

by Megan Shepherd

Madmans jkt Des1.indd

The basement hallways in King’s College of Medical Research were dark, even in the daytime.

At night they were like a grave.

Rats crawled through corridors that dripped with cold perspiration.  The chill in the sunken rooms kept the specimens from rotting and numbed my own flesh, too, through the worn layers of my dress.  When I cleaned those rooms, late at night after the medical students had gone home to their warm beds, the sound of my hard-bristle brush echoed in the operating theater, down the twisting halls, into the storage spaces where they kept the things of nightmares.  Other people’s nightmares, that is.  Dead flesh and sharpened scalpels didn’t bother me.  I was my father’s daughter, after all.  My nightmares were made of darker things.

Would you keep reading?  Let me know in the comments below…

I have just finished reading and reviewing this book.

If anybody wishes to read my review of The Madman’s Daughter, please click here.

Tuesday Intro's

Every Tuesday Bibliophile By the Sea hosts First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Intros… where bloggers can share the first paragraph or (a few) of a book they are reading or thinking about reading soon. Care to join us?

14 thoughts on “Tuesday Intros… The Madman’s Daughter

  1. I am intrigued. I’ve actually been eyeing this book for awhile now, thinking I might like it. I’m off to read your review now!

What Do You Think....

